Ayers, Ojure, Whitesell Apparent Winners In Election

Article Image Alt Text

Unofficial winners of contested races in Rockbridge County Tuesday included Melissa A. “Missy” Whitesell over Michele L. Clark for treasurer, Leslie Ayers over Mack Smith for Buffalo District member of the Board of Supervisors and Lenna Ojure over Anne Russek for Buffalo District member of the School Board.

In Buena Vista, unofficial winners were Ronald Cash, Steve Webb and Michelle Poluikis for City Council and Paula Charlton, Teresa Ellison and Wayne Flint for School Board.

In Glasgow, incumbent Mayor Paul Williams defeated challenger Joshua Fitz.

Republican incumbent members of the General Assembly were victorious in the three districts that encompass portions or all of the Rockbridge area. Unofficial results show Republican Del. Christopher Head winning state Senate District 3 over Democratic nominee Jade Harris of Glasgow, Republican Del. Ellen Campbell of Rockbridge County prevailing over Democratic nominee Randall Wolf in House of Delegates District 36 and Republican Del. Terry Austin the choice of voters over Democratic nominee Stephanie Clark in House of Delegates District 37.

Editor's note: We must emphasize that these are unofficial results. When the unofficial results were first reported Tuesday night, two of the county's contested races showed a different result. Provisional votes and mailed-in absentee ballots have still not been counted. The results won't be official until the final canvasing is done on Monday, Nov. 13. 


The News-Gazette

The News-Gazette Corp.
P.O. Box 1153
Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 463-3113

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Latest articles