Jaycees Announce Awards, New Officers

The Lexington-Rockbridge Jaycees recently announced its annual awards, made donations to area nonprofits and elected new officers for 2021.

Tony Bostick received the T. David Grist Community Member of the Year Award for his tireless efforts to help his neighbors in need. Among many other things, he delivers and distributes boxes of regionally sourced food for Rockbridge citizens in need at no cost to the recipients. The food boxes are available for pickup each Saturday morning at Lylburn Downing Middle School.

Brent Buswell was named the Chapter Member of the Year and Allicia Bostick the New Member of the Year. Both are exemplars of community service, professional development and fraternity, a spokesman said.

The Lexington-Rockbridge Jaycees is awarding checks in the amount of $2,500 each to the Rockbridge Area YMCA, the Chamber of Commerce Serving Lexington, Buena Vista and Rockbridge County, and the Rockbridge Area Health Center. These donations were drawn from proceeds from the 2020 Gobble Wobble 5K and Fun Run.

The Lexington-Rockbridge Jaycees have elected new officers for 2021 as follows.

● President, Jamie Goodin;

● State director and treasurer, Josh Eggleston;

● Vice president of community development, Dan Dickman;

● Vice president of membership, Lauren Shank;

● Vice president of communications, Allicia Bostick;

● Secretary, Jordan McNabb.

Following a chapter-wide feedback process and strategic planning session, the Jaycees are committed to enhancing their positive community impact in 2021, a spokesman said.

For decades the Jaycees have been a social, leadership, and civic organization, bringing together young professionals between the ages of 21 and 40 without demanding obligations. Anyone interested in joining can visit www.LexRockJaycees. org or contact Lauren Shank at laurenshank11@gmail.com.

The News-Gazette

The News-Gazette Corp.
P.O. Box 1153
Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 463-3113

Email Us

Facebook Twitter