Election Day ‘19 Offers Lots Of Races


LOCAL BOY SCOUTS lead the Pledge of Allegiance at the start of the chamber’s candidate forum in Buena Vista Thursday night. On the stage are Buena Vista Council candidates Steve Baldridge, Lisa Clark, Stanley Coffey and Cheryl Hickman. (all photos by Stephanie Mikels Blevins)


ELLIOTT HARDING, independent candidate for the state Senate 25th District seat, works on his notes before the start of the candidate’s forum in Lexington.


STATE SEN. CREIGH DEEDS speaks at the candidates forum in Lexington Wednesday sponsored by the local chamber of commerce.

More than two dozen local officials will be elected by Rockbridge area voters next Tuesday, Nov. 5. There have been no changes to precincts since last year’s elections and polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Voters are reminded to bring photo I.D.s to the polls.

Three members of the Rockbridge County Board of Supervisors will be elected. Candidates vying to succeed outgoing Buffalo District supervisor John Higgins are Democratic nominee Leslie Ayers, Republican nominee Charles Kostelni, Mack Smith, Jonathan Tarris and Randy Trout.

David McDaniel and Andrew Ryan are running for the Natural Bridge District supervisor’s seat currently held by David Hinty, who is not running for reelection. Candidates for South River supervisor are Republican nominee Bob Day and Cathleen Archer. Day was appointed to this seat on an interim basis earlier this year when Ronnie Campbell was elected to the House of Delegates.

Three members of the county School Board are up for election. Incumbents Wendy Lovell of the Buffalo District and Neil Whitmore of the Walkers Creek District are unopposed. There are no candidates on the ballot for the Natural Bridge District currently held by McDaniel, but Kathy Burant is running as a write-in candidate.

Steve Funkhouser is running unopposed for Rockbridge County and Lexington sheriff – a position being vacated by Chris Blalock, who is not seeking reelection. County and Lexington Commonwealth’s Attorney Jared Moon is running unopposed for this office. Moon, Republican nominee, was appointed on an interim basis earlier this year when Chris Billias became a circuit court judge. County Commissioner of Revenue David Whitesell and county Treasurer Betty Trovato, Republican nominee, are running unopposed for reelection.

In Buena Vista, three incumbents and one challenger are running for three seats on both City Council and the School Board. Candidates for Council are challenger Cheryl Hickman and incumbents Steve Baldridge, Lisa Clark and Stanley Coffey. Candidates for the School Board are challenger John Butler and incumbents Brooke Baker, Teresa Ellison and Wayne Flint.

Buena Vista Mayor Bill Fitzgerald is unopposed in his bid for reelection. There is a contested race for Buena Vista commonwealth’s attorney. Interim incumbent Joshua Elrod, appointed earlier this year to succeed Chris Russell, who is now a general district court judge, is running against Daniel Mowry. Chris Coleman, clerk of the Buena Vista Circuit Court, is running unopposed for re-election.

In Glasgow, there are four candidates for three Town Council seats – Shane Watts, Jade Harris and incumbents Andrea Bradley and Barrett McFaddin. There are no candidates on the ballot for Glasgow mayor, an office currently held by Ruby Clark, who is not seeking re-election. Watts has offered himself as a write-in candidate for mayor.

All six directors on the Natural Bridge Soil and Water Conservation Board are up for election. Candidates for the county’s two seats are Robert Beard, Timothy Goodbar, Brian Jenkins and Reid Mackey. Candidates for Buena Vista’s two seats are incumbent Robert Deyo and Roy Schwartz. There are no candidates on the ballot for Lexington’s two seats.

All 140 members of the General Assembly are up for election, including the two members whose districts encompass the Rockbridge area. Incumbent state Sen. Creigh Deeds, Democrat of the 25th District, is being challenged by independent candidate Elliott Harding. Republican incumbent Del. Ronnie Campbell of the 24th District faces Democrat Christian Worth and independent Eli Fishpaw.

The News-Gazette

The News-Gazette Corp.
P.O. Box 1153
Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 463-3113

Email Us

Facebook Twitter