Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

LEXINGTON voters sign in at the Spotswood Drive polling location to cast their vote, with a little Lexington resident tagging along for the fun Tuesday morning. While Lexington voters had no Council or School Board races to decide, they did vote for House of Delegates and state Senate candidates and candidates for the Natural Bridge Soil and Water District, as did voters in the other two jurisdictions. (Harrison Mines photo)

Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

BUFFALO DISTRICT residents cast their votes at the Effinger firehouse, a shared polling location with the Kerrs Creek District. Buffalo voters had five choices for their supervisor this time. (Harrison Mines photo)

Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

BUENA VISTA City Council candidate Stanley Coffey speaks with voter Michelle Harwley outside the Municipal Building. Behind them is commonwealth’s attorney candidate Josh Elrod. (Katie Doar photo)

Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

GLASGOW voters India Martin, Brenda Hunt and Clarence Martin prepare to vote at the Glasgow Library Tuesday. Glasgow residents were electing Council members and a new mayor. (Katie Doar photo)

Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

ABOVE, a Buffalo District voter and his daughter head to fill out his ballot at the Effinger firehouse Tuesday morning.

Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

BUENA VISTA City Council candidate Steve Baldridge and Buena Vista Mayor Bill Fitzgerald talk with voters outside the municipal building. (Katie Doar photo)

Ayers, Day, McDaniel Elected

AT LEFT state Sen. Creigh Deeds greets voters, alongside House of Delegates candidate Christian Worth, outside the Lexington polling site. (Harrison Mines photos)

Elrod, Hickman, Butler Win In BV

Leslie Ayers, David McDaniel and Bob Day were all three elected to the Rockbridge County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday.

Ayers emerged victorious from a field of five candidates to claim the Buffalo District seat. In the Natural Bridge District supervisor’s race, McDaniel defeated Andrew Ryan. Bob Day, appointed South River supervisor earlier this year, held onto this seat by beating back a challenge from Cathleen Archer.

Interim Buena Vista Commonwealth’s Attorney Joshua Elrod won this office in his own right by winning the election over Daniel Mowry.

Cheryl Hickman won election to Buena Vista City Council. She replaces Steve Baldridge, who finished fourth in a four-way race for three seats. Lisa Clark and Stanley Coffey were both reelected.

John Butler unseated Brooke Coffey on the Buena Vista School Board. Incumbent School Board members Teresa Ellison and Wayne Flint were both reelected.

The order of finish in the four-person race for three Glasgow Town Council seats was Shane Watts, Barrett McFadden, Andrea Bradley and Jade Harris.

Reid Mackey and Timmy Good-bar won the county’s two seats on the Natural Bridge Soil and Water Conservation District Board.

State Sen. Creigh Deeds of the 25th District and Del. Ronnie Campbell of the 24th District – the two members of the General Assembly whose districts encompass the Rock-bridge area – were both reelected.

Results from several races that were to be determined by write-in votes won’t be known until tomorrow’s canvassing. No candidates qualified for inclusion on the ballot in the elections for Glasgow mayor, Natural Bridge member of the county School Board and the two Lexington members of the NBSWC Board.

Rockbridge County and Lexington Sheriff-elect Steve Funkhouser, a 23-year veteran of the department, was elected without opposition to succeed Sheriff Chris Blalock, who did not seek reelection.

Incumbents reelected without opposition included Buena Vista Mayor Bill Fitzgerald, county School Board members Wendy Lovell of the Buffalo District and Neil Whit-more of the Walkers Creek District, Buena Vista Clerk of the Circuit Court Chris Coleman, county and Lexington Commonwealth’s Attorney Jared Moon, county Commissioner of Revenue David Whitesell and county Treasurer Betty Trovato. Also elected without opposition were incumbent Robert Deyo and Roy Schwartz as Buena Vista’s members of the Natural Bridge Soil and Water Conservation District Board.

The News-Gazette

The News-Gazette Corp.
P.O. Box 1153
Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 463-3113

Email Us

Facebook Twitter