120 StauntonElliott Auto Group web button 120  erie200

Candidates File In Lexington, Glasgow

  • Written by Ed Smith

Lexington and Glasgow will have contested races in their local elections this fall. Four candidates are vying for three Lexington City Council seats, and five are contending for three seats on Glasgow Town Council.

In Lexington, incumbent Council members Mary Harvey-Halseth and Chuck Smith will be joined on the ballot by Patrick Rhamey and David Sigler. All four have qualified for inclusion on the Nov. 4 ballot. A third incumbent whose term expires this year, George Pryde, is not running for re-election.

Glasgow Town Council members Roger Funkhouser, Michael Turner and James “Sonny” Williams have filed to run for re-election. Challenging these Glasgow incumbents are R. Guy Kindle and Thomas “Tom” McClanahan.

Goshen Mayor Justin Thompson is unopposed in his bid for re-election. Appointed incumbent members Chris Robertson and Shirley Rorer have filed to hold onto their slots on Goshen Town Council. A third seat will be filled by a write-in candidate because no one else filed by the June 10 deadline.

There will also be two special elections locally on Nov. 4 – one in Buena Vista and one in Glasgow. The one in Buena Vista will be to fill the City Council seat formerly held by Lewis Plogger, who resigned in April. Tim Petrie was appointed to fill Plogger's seat until the special election. The special election in Glasgow is to fill a vacancy created by the recent resignation of John Hill. The deadline to file a candidacy in these special elections is Aug. 15 at 5 p.m.