McCraw Elected Goshen Mayor; Rorer, Robertson, Landrum Elected To Council

Kit Huffman

During Tuesday's election, Thomas O. McCraw was elected with 34 votes to remain the mayor of Goshen.  He was the sole candidate on the ballot for the mayor’s position.  A total of 54 write-in votes were also cast for the mayor’s spot, for 10 different individuals.

This was McCraw’s first election as mayor, as he was previously appointed to the position following the resignation of Michael Hinks.  McCraw was elected to Town Council in 2012 and reelected to Council in 2016.

Also, elected to Goshen Town Council were Shirley Rorer, the sole Council candidate on the ballot, with 56 votes, along with write-in winners Chris Robertson, with 52 votes, and Lisa Landrum, with 37 write-in votes.  A total of 118 write-in votes for Council were cast for 22 individuals.  Robertson’s four-year term on Council ends this year, but he did not register for reelection.

According to the county registrar’s final tally prior to the Nov. 6 election, the town of Goshen has 178 registered voters. 

The Council term of current Vice Mayor Jessie Hinkle also ends this year, but, like Robertson, she did not register to be on the ballot.  She did receive write-in votes for both mayor and Council, but was not elected.  Hinkle is volunteering at Town Hall while Council seeks a replacement for former Town Clerk Bobbie Thornsbury, who resigned on Oct. 5.


The News-Gazette

The News-Gazette Corp.
P.O. Box 1153
Lexington, VA 24450
(540) 463-3113

Email Us

Facebook Twitter

Please Login for Premium Content